You can add, view, invite, import, export, and manage all registered users from the Users menu item.
This tool allows you to change resource access permissions of individual users, assign users to groups, deactivate or delete accounts, reset user passwords, and edit user details. You can also add new users, which is especially useful if self-registration is turned off.
Users must have permission to book resources. You can grant permission directly to a user, or you can set permissions at the group level. A user will inherit all permissions of the groups they belong to.
If using credits, this section is where user credit quantities can be managed.
Adding Administrators #
It is common to have multiple administrative users within an organization. There are two ways to add additional administrators. Both require an existing administrator to add the new one. The new administrator must also already have an account in Booked.
Option 1) Open Application Configuration, find the admin.email section, and add the other user’s email address. You can separate multiple email addresses with a space, a comma, or a semicolon.
Option 2) Open Application Management > Groups, and add the person to the Administrators group.
The new administrator will need to log out and back in to access administrative features.
Transferring Reservation Ownership #
There are cases when you may want to transfer some or all reservations from one person to another.
Within the additional user actions menu there is an option to Transfer Ownership. You will be asked to choose a new owner and which reservations you would like to transfer. Optionally, you can send the new owner an email with details.
Multi Factor Authentication (MFA) #
Booked supports MFA via email or using an Authenticator App, such as Google Authenticator. By default, MFA is not required. Users may still enroll in MFA if they choose.
To require MFA for all users, set the mfa.required configuration setting to true.
If enrolled in MFA, users will be required to enter a time-based one time passcode (TOTP) after they have successfully logged in. Based on user preferences, this TOTP will be sent to the user’s email address or will available through their configured authenticator app.
As an administrator, resetting a user’s password will clear the MFA requirement and allow a user to log in normally.
If MFA is enabled, any user who is not active for more than 30 consecutive days will be required go through the MFA flow to upon their next login.
Deactivating Users #
Users can be deactivated or deleted. Deactivating a user will prevent them from logging in and remove them from all user lists. Their reservations will remain.
Deleting a user will permanently remove all user data, including all past and future reservations they own.
Inviting Users #
From the context menu at the top right of the page you can access the user invitation functionality. Here you can provide a list of email addresses to invite to your Booked instance. Each user will receive an invitation email with details on creating a new Booked account.
Importing Users #
From the context menu at the top right of the page you can access the user import functionality. Here you can upload a CSV file containing details of users to bulk import or update. This bulk process only performs basic validation checks – missing fields, unique email addresses, unique usernames. Users are not notified of new account creation or account updates.
Exporting Users #
From the context menu at the top right of the page you can access the user export functionality. This will export all user information in CSV format. This export file can be modified and uploaded via the Import process to bulk update user information.